Potato Bake

potato-bake

I bought some Olga’s Veal Schnitzels already crumbed, normally I don’t like buying already made schnitzels as too many times I bought some that were very fatty, or had a lot of tendons, you just cannot see what is under those crumbs. So I buy veal, pork, chicken breast or beef and make my own schnitzels and know what meat has been used. I can also add the seasonings and herbs that I want to use and make it special.

Anyway, I made the schnitzels and they were ok, and instead of boiled or mashed potatoes I wanted to make a potato bake with some lovely flavours of bacon, fried onions and fresh sliced spring onion for lightness and freshness. I am lactose intolerant so I used the Liddells brand of lactose free cheese, it is a lovely cheddar cheese without the pain. I used a small dish about 10 inches x 5 inches. Recipe below.

  • 5 above medium Potatoes, peeled and quartered
  • 2 Spring Onions, finely sliced, reserve a little for garnish
  • 250 grams (8oz) finely diced Bacon, reserve a little for garnish
  • 1 Large Onion, peeled and chopped
  • 250 grams (8oz) cheese, grated
  • Salt to taste

Rinse the Potatoes, cover with water and salt to taste, bring them to the boil, cook until just done. Drain.

Meanwhile fry the bacon until golden and crisp, drain from the fat and put on paper towels. Fry the onions until golden and fragrant. Drain on paper towels.

Slice the potatoes to 1/4 to 1/3 of an inch thick. Make the first layer of the Potato Bake potatoes, I don’t grease my dish as you have ingredient that have been cooked in oil they will still exude some oil as well as the cheese. After the potatoes add a scattered layer of bacon, onions, spring onions just a few, and then some cheese. Keep this going until you used all the potatoes finishing with cheese. Place in oven and brown the cheese until golden brown. Garnish and serve.

Leave a Reply

