Liver Love It or Hate It

When I grew up we often had liver to eat, it was very cheap and provided a decent sized dinner. Mum used to dredge it in flour with some herbs and spices then fry it until it was cooked, this was served with boiled potatoes and gravy. At that age I really didn’t like liver too much it was tough, dry and not pleasant in my eyes.  This all happened in the 60’s when people used to eat all these offal products, these days not many people talk about it so much. But just like fashion all things come around again. I have seen Pork Liver in the butchers recently so maybe liver is slowly coming back.

Gram for gram, liver is one of the most nutrient dense foods available to us. It contains a large amount of high-quality protein, an easily absorbed form of iron, all of the B vitamins (including B12 and folic acid in significant amounts), balanced quantities of vitamin A, many trace elements and minerals including copper, zinc, chromium, phosphorous and selenium, essential fatty acids EPA, DHA and AA, as well as the powerful antioxidant CoQ10.  Taken from the following blog :- http://blog.radiantlifecatalog.com/bid/60772/Benefits-of-Eating-Liver-10-Questions-Answered

As I have grown older I have seen liver made in many different ways. But my eyes were truly opened when I was invited to a friends place for dinner and watched the mom prepare Lamb Fry (Lamb Liver), she skinned it and I didn’t have any idea there was a skin on liver in the first place, she sliced it very thin and dredged it in flour, but here is the amazing thing. Before she started the liver she chopped up and fried 250 grams of bacon rashers and a large onion, then put them aside. She fried the liver and told me that it must not be cooked through, That is done when you make up the gravy add the bacon and onions and the liver and cook it on low for 30 minutes or so. Serve with potatoes and any other vegetables. I must say it was fantastic, there was absolutely no taste of the liver, never in my wildest dreams did I think I would love liver and I have repeated that recipe many times since. So I guess I can honestly say I love liver.

Leave a Reply

