Chicken and Pork Seasoning

Many times when I look at the ingredients of a packet of seasoning there are so many additives, some of the names I have to look up on the internet to figure out what on earth they mean. I get lost in all these Latin or technical names and often wish the used terms we all understood.

I was looking up Citric Acid last night to see how it was used in a can of beans, I found out more than I wanted and it was scary. If you eat too much citric acid it allows your body to absorb aluminium more easily, not good. But there is worse there is another citric acid and it is still just called citric acid but it is made from the black mould that grows on the citrus fruit. To me that is beyond nasty.

So now that I have digressed from the recipe and most probably grossed you out I created a seasoning that is delicious the main salt component is the Massel vegetable stock powder, if you want to use less salt to your food add less stock powder or use a low salt stock powder. It is a delicious seasoning great on pork and chicken.

Chicken Seasoning 1a

All herbs are dried unless stated otherwise

  • 2 ½ teaspoons Massel Vegetable Stock Powder
  • 2 teaspoons Parsley Flakes
  • ½ teaspoon Thyme leaves
  • 1/3 teaspoon Oregano Leaves
  • 2 ½ teaspoon Garlic Powder
  • 3 teaspoons Onion Powder
  • ½ teaspoon Turmeric Powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons (level) Masterfoods All Purpose Seasoning
  • 2 teaspoons Chives
  • ½ teaspoon Sage Leaves
  • ¼ teaspoon Rosemary

Mix all ingredients together. Use liberally on chicken and pork for a deliciously flavoured roast or chops, sprinkle on pounded chicken breast before making schnitzels.

I made this seasoning and used it on a Spatchcocked chicken on the inside and outside, the result was incredible and had everyone’s mouth watering.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we all did.

*Note* – The Massel vegetable stock contains salt, I am using it as my salt substitute, plus delicious flavouring; if this is too salty add less or go for a salt reduced stock powder.

 

 

Leave a Reply

